Classic quotes from Calvin and Hobbes

“Curiosity is the essence of the Scientific Mind” -Calvin.

“Compromise makes everybody mad” -Calvin.

“Existence is not only temporary, it’s pointless. We’re all doomed and worse, nothing matters.” Calvin.

“Genius is never understood in it’s time.” -Calvin.

“In the real world people care about success not principles.. Then maybe that’s why the world is in such a mess.” -Calvin.

“I don’t know which is worse, that everyone has their price -or that the price is always low.” -Hobbes.

“Do what you can with what you have, where you are” -Teddy Roosevelt.

“Isn’t it weird that Evolution would give us a sense of humour? -Calvin.

“I suppose if we couldn’t laugh at things that don’t make sense, we couldn’t react to a lot of life.” -Hobbes.

“Do you believe in The Devil? You know, a supreme evil being dedicated to the temptation, corruption and destruction of man?” -Calvin.

“I’m not sure man needs the help” -Hobbes

“Paul Gauguin asked whence do we come? What are we? Where are we going?

“Well I don’t know about anyone else, but I came from my room I’m a kid with big plans and I’m going outside.” -Calvin.

“History is the fiction we invent to persuade ourselves that events are knowable and that life has order and direction.”

“I have concluded that nothing bad I do is my fault.

“Being young and impressionable, I’m the helpless victim of countless bad influences. An unwholesome culture panders to my undeveloped values and pushes me to malficence. I take no responsibility for my behaviour. I am an innocent pawn. It’s society’s fault.” -Calvin.

“They say the secret to success is being at the right place at the right time. Since you never know when the right time is going to be, I figure the trick is to find the right place and just hang around.” -Calvin.

“The more you know, the harder it is to take a decisive action.

“Once you become informed, you start seeing the complexities and shades of gray.

“You realise that nothing is as clear and simple as it first appears.

“Ultimately knowledge is paralyzing.”

“Dad, what causes wind?” -Calvin

“Trees sneezing” -Calvin’s dad.

Calvin holds up a sign: “Love the sinner, hate the sin.”

Calvin’s dad. “uh oh…”

Leave a Reply

