Looking at Mental Health

I choose a number of topics to look at before settling on Mental Health for this project.

This is not because Mental Health is not an important topic to me, but that there are a number of topics that interest me in terms of datasets.

My first number of attempts at using Gephi were unsuccessful and my data ended up looking like a child’s painting that was brought home from Kindergarden.

The reason I think there is for this is the tutorial on the Gephi website is for Gephi 7 and the program has since been updated to Gephi 9 which is quite different to the tutorial.

This led to a number of problems, one being my inability to produce a clear and concise diagram that illustrated my first set of data on gender equality.

Screenshot 2016-03-18 at 22.06.03

 

Screenshot 2016-03-18 at 22.08.39

After a number of failed attempts to formulate a usable diagram using Gephi, I turned to Palladio, an online graph maker.

With this I also encountered some difficulties. There were some initial issues with file size and also some problems with the data sets I had chosen.

Finally there were issues with presentation of the data meaning I ended up with massive spiralling diagrams that did not explain what I wanted.

After all these problems that went on for several days, I eventually decided to simplify my assignment and stick to what I know.

With a degree in psychology, mental health is something that has always been an interest to me.

What I hoped to achieve was to show some kind of link between the rise in mental health problems and unemployment and poverty.

Showing that as employment declined and poverty increased, mental health problems increased.

Screenshot 2016-03-18 at 22.14.36.png

This is a graph detailing the levels of suicide in age groups between 20 and 39 years of age. I then looked at income over the same number of years to find a correlation.

Screenshot 2016-03-18 at 22.30.45

 

I found that during the years 2007-2009, where there was a somewhat increased rate of suicide there was heightened levels of poverty.

I also looked at unemployment figures and found they increased around this time also.

Screenshot 2016-03-18 at 22.45.11

Further expediting the idea that the three factors were linked.

Leave a Reply

